## **Constitution Committee Minutes**

October 7, 2016

Present: Heather Ray, Richard Scholtz, Rachel Purcell, Maureen Long, Angel Kwolek-Folland, Ana Spiguel

- 1. Minutes Approved-further discussion of IT was resumed starting with item 7. *Motion to approve presented, seconded, motion passed.*
- Edit Bylaws to include addition of new Senate committee into: By-Law 20, (A) (2) (a): "University Information Technology Committee" a. *Motion presented, seconded, and passed*.
- 3. Edit Bylaws to include addition of existing Senate committee into: By-Law 20, (A) (2) (a): "Compensation Committee"
  a. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- 4. Edit Bylaws to re-order Senate Committees
  - a. As follows
    - i. Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations, and Standards Committee
    - ii. Committee on Committees
    - iii. Compensation Committee
    - iv. University **Constitution** Committee and Rules Committee
    - v. Honorary **Degrees**, Distinguished Alumnus Awards and Memorials Committee
    - vi. University Information Technology Committee
    - vii. University Libraries Committee
    - viii. Senate Nominating Committee
      - ix. Senate Steering Committee
  - b. Discussion: Agreed to order by main descriptive (or functional) noun, not "University", Not "Senate". Discussion of renaming Academic Freedom, Tenure, Professional Relations, and Standards Committee to something more reflective that this is a "Grievance Committee". Tabled for further discussion.
  - c. Motion to accept "order as written" presented, seconded, and passed.
- 5. Correction of erroneous cross reference in Constitution:
  - a. Constitution Article 4, Section 2, D Change Subsection numbers from 1.,3.,4., and 5. (bottom of pdf p. 11-see attached)

- i. Change Subsections to 1., 2., 3., 4
- ii. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- b. Constitution Article 4, Section 2, D. Subsection 3. (bottom of pdf p. 11-see attached)
  - i. Change words **Section 1(C)** to **2(C)**
  - ii. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- 6. New wording on voting members of Information Technology Committee:
  - a. "Voting members will serve three year terms and shall be nominated by action of the respective faculty assembly."
  - b. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- 7. Proposed edit regarding student members to include addition of new Senate Committee:
  - a. Three non-voting student members shall be chosen for oneyear terms: one by the Student Government, one by the Graduate Student Council, and one from one of the professional colleges, rotating between the colleges on an annual basis.
  - b. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- **8.** Proposed wording of **new Senate Committee**, By-Law 20, (A) (2) (a): **"University Information Technology Committee"** 
  - a. University Information Technology Committee. The University Information Technology Committee shall be composed of seventeen voting members, one member from the University Libraries and one from each of the sixteen colleges. Voting members will serve three year terms and shall be nominated by action of the respective faculty assembly. Faculty members of all ranks are eligible for membership. The Chair is elected by the Committee and will serve a one-year term. The University Chief Information Officer and two appointees of Same, shall serve as liaisons to the Committee. Three non-voting student members shall be chosen for one-year terms: one by the Student Government, one by the Graduate Student Council, and one from one of the professional colleges, rotating between the colleges on an annual basis. The Committee shall assist University leaders in developing and updating strategic plans for information and communications technology. The Committee shall advise

the Faculty Senate on all information and communications technology. The Committee shall advise the Faculty Senate on all information and communications technology policy matters affecting the University. The Chief Information Officer or her or his designated liaison shall present matters of policy to the Committee in a timely manner, provide the Committee with pertinent details about information and communications technology network policy changes, and report to the Committee on actions taken in response to the Committee's recommendations.

- b. Motion presented, seconded, and passed.
- 9. Motion to Adjourn, Seconded and Passed.

## IT Committee Language

University Information Technology Committee. The University Information Technology Committee shall be composed of seventeen voting members, one member from the University Libraries and one from each of the sixteen colleges. Voting members will serve three-year terms and shall be nominated by action of the respective faculty assembly. Faculty members of all ranks are eligible for membership. The Chair is elected by the Committee and will serve a one-year term. The University Chief Information Officer and two appointees of Same, shall serve as liaisons to the Committee. Three non-voting student members shall be chosen for one-year terms: one by the Student Government, one by the Graduate Student Council, and one from one of the professional colleges. rotating between the colleges on an annual basis. The Committee shall assist University leaders in developing and updating strategic plans for information and communications technology. The Committee shall advise the Faculty Senate on all information and communications technology. including those policy matters affecting the University. The Chief Information Officer or her or his designated liaison shall present matters of policy to the Committee in a timely manner, provide the Committee with pertinent details about information and communications technology network policy changes, and report to the Committee on actions taken in response to the Committee's recommendations.